Courtesy images
David Lumu
Journalist @New Vision

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has sent condolence messages to the families of two National Unity Platform (NUP) councilors who died on Saturday in an accident. 

“We have learnt with sadness about the death of the two NUP members and those that were injured in a road accident in Kumi, while on their way to Omoro. May their souls rest in peace,” the NRM spokesperson, Emmanuel Dombo said.  

Dombo also appealed to Ugandans to adhere to traffic regulations. 

“We appeal to all road users to adhere to the traffic regulations to reduce on accidents in Uganda,” he said. 

NUP officials said on Saturday that Denis Waiswa and Yakub Kiggundu, the LCIII councilor for Kazo Angola A in Kawempe, Kampala died in a road crash after the car they were travelling in overturned along Pallisa-Kumi road. 

Waiswa and Kiggundu, party officials added, were travelling to Omoro district to campaign for NUP candidate, Simon Tolit Akecha, for the forthcoming by-election. 

“The National Unity Platform has learnt with great sadness and shock, of an accident that occurred on the road towards Kumi from Iganga, involving some of our comrades. The car was traveling to Omoro to join our campaign team. We have so far learnt that two of our comrades and leaders, Waiswa Denis from Iganga and Yakub Kiggundu from Kawempe, have passed on,” NUP officials said in a statement posted on the party’s Twitter handle. 

Police confirmed the accident, noting that six other people got injured, including a BBS TV journalist, Amon Kitamirike. 

Forum for Democratic Party (FDC) party officials also mourned the death of NUP councilors, noting that the duo died “in line of duty”. 

“We mourn the loss of Yakubu Kiggundu and Denis Waiswa of NUP. Rest well comrades. You died in the line of duty to awaken the people of Omoro County. Condolences to NUP, people of Kazo, Iganga and family and friends of the deceased,” FDC party officials said. 

The NUP party president, Robert Kyagulanyi aka Bobi Wine is expected in Omoro on Monday(May 23) to campaign for the party’s candidate, Tolit. 

President Yoweri Museveni, who is also the chairman NRM, will campaign for Andrew Ojok Oulanyah on Tuesday (May 24). 

Six contenders were nominated for the Omoro County parliamentary seat. These include, Ojok (NRM), Simon Tolit Akecha (National Unity Platform), Justine Odong (Forum for Democratic Change), Oscar Kizza (Alliance for National Transformation), Jimmy Walter Onen and Terence Odonga, who are contesting as independents.  

Campaigns will end on May 24 and voting will be conducted on May 26.  

The Omoro County seat fell vacant following the death of former Speaker of Parliament, Jacob Oulanyah on March 20 at a hospital in Seattle, US.  

Related Articles

No Comment

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});