Karuhanga elected Ankole Zone chairman in UPSSA elections

Aloysius Byamukama
Journalist @New Vision
Mar 19, 2024

The Uganda Primary Schools Sports Association (UPSSA) has started its quest for effective management of primary school sports with the election of new office bearers at the newly created 11 zones across the country on Saturday.

At the elections carried out at Kakyeka Stadium, Edison Karuhanga was elected chairman.

The elections conducted by Mbarara City Sports Officer Chleopas Musinguzi saw Karuhanga beat three other contestants Bernard Nuwagira and Rev. Fr. Paul Kuruger Byamugisha who polled 12 and 8 votes respectively.

Delegates vote for their preferred candidates

Delegates vote for their preferred candidates

Speaking to the electorates after being declared the winner, Karuhanga called for unity and cooperation as he started the journey of managing primary school sports in the zone and Uganda at large.

“I thank you for entrusting me with this responsibility and I will do my best for this office. I will call upon all of us to come together as a family for the betterment of sports in our schools,” Karuhanga said.

The electorate assembly consisted of 5 delegates that had last weekend been elected at the executives of each of the 13 districts that make the Ankole zone and from the elected zonal executive across the 11 zones, five delegates will be named to represent these zones to the national elective assembly that will elect the national UPSSA president and his executive due this Saturday, March 23.

Delegates wait for ballot papers

Delegates wait for ballot papers

Of all the elective positions, only four were contested where Aaron Barahuka polled 33 votes to take the treasurer’s position beating Anesty Twebaze who got 16 votes, and Barbra Nimwesiga polled 30 votes to take the netball coordinator position ahead of Jadah Katongore who polled 16 and Patrick Mujinya got 24 votes to beat Julius Ssembatya (21) on the position of football coordinator, the rest went through unopposed.

Ankole zone UPSSA elected executive

Chairperson-Karuhanga Edison

Vice Chairperson-Arinaitwe Dennis

Secretary-Twinamatsiko Moses

Vice Secretary-Barahuka Moses

Treasurer-Barahuka Aaron. 

Organizing secretary-Bukiriro Aaron

Secretary for Women-Naturinda Prudence

Coordinator SNE-Nampija Enid

Coordinator football-Mujinya Patrick. 24

Coordinator Netball-Nimwesiga Barbra 30

Coordinator Athletics-Mugabi Thadius

Coordinator Volleyball-Tumuhimbise Ambrose

Coordinator Handball-Gumabarekye Robert

Related Articles

No Comment

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});